the Great Book Reading Mission of Krash Bandikoot


One thing I have failed to mention since I have taken up blogging again, is that I have taken on a mission of reading all 100 books on the Whitcoulls Top 100 books. The idea had come to me when I was visiting the Whitcoulls in the Westfield mall in Chartwell, Hamilton. I happened to pick up a copy of the 2012/2013 copy of the Top 100. Flicking through it, I realised how many of the books I’ve actually already read, including (number in brackets shows the number on the Top 100):

  • (1) the Millennium Trilogy – Steig Larsson
  • (2) the Hunger Games Trilogy – Suzanne Collins
  • (3) the Lord of the Rings Trilogy – J.R.R Tolkien
  • (5) the Fifty Shades Trilogy – E.L James
  • (6) Harry Potter – J.K Rolling
  • (10) The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkein
  • (11) My Sister’s Keeper – Jodi Picoult
  • (14) To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  • (15) The Help – Kathryn Stockett
  • (17) the Power of One – Bryce Courtenay
  • (19) the Twilight SeriesStephanie Meyer
  • (23) the Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
  • (28) the Other Boleyn Girl – Phillippa Gregory
  • (30) Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
  • (42) Edmonds Cookery Book – Edmonds (a good Kiwi classic cook book)
  • (59) Open – Andre Agassi (Highly reccomend thsi book. Lent it to my partner’s brother and had it all of about 2 minutes before getting stuck into it)
  • (62) Mao’s Last Dancer – Li Cunxin
  • (70) The Bible – Can’t really tell you who wrote this, as it is more of a collaborative effort (Sidenote: After 13 years of Catholic education, I’m sure I’ve probably read the whole thing at some point, or at least got the jist of it)
  • (74) The Pact – Jodi Picoult

 

This makes me sound like the epic book nerd to end all epic book nerds, but I’m a little of a Lone Ranger in life so that gives me a lot of time to read haha. But there’s some books on the list that I am super excited to read, some not so much, and one book in particular simply has not lived up to the hype. I have recently started reading the Tea Rose by Jennifer Donnelly, and I can honestly say that I will be glad when it’s all over.  This book simply does not seem to live up to all the rave reviews, and doesn’t seem to be doing much for me.

Some of the books that I am most looking forward to reading is House Rules by Jodi Picoult. This book is about Jacob Hunt, a young boy with Asperger’s Syndrome who is accused of murdering his Social Skills counselor. Like a lot of Picoult’s books, I expect this one to make you think a lot :). Another of her books that I am looking forward to is Nineteen Minutes, which is based on a a school shooting, and how those affected by it are dealing with it. Another book I am looking forward to is the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith. Precious Ramotswe inherited her father’s herd of cows upon his death, which she sells and starts the first private detective agency owned by a woman in Botswana.

I am facing this challenge with a enthusiasm, with a twinge of un-enthusiasm with how many books I am not looking forward to reading, but I hope that all will turn out all right and that I will be a little bit more well read and knowledgeable once I am done. If you are looking forward for some inspiration for your Christmas Holiday reading, be sure to check out the Whitcoulls Top 100 Books.

Have Fun 🙂

~Krash xx

 

Leave a Reply

