Waikato Chiefs v Durban Sharks – As It Happened


1. Sona Taumalolo

2. Mahonri Schwalger

3. Ben Tameifuna

4. Craig Clarke (c)

5. Brodie Retallick

6. Liam Messam

7. Tanerau Latimer

8. Kane Thompson

9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow

10. Aaron Cruden

11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma

12. Sonny Bill Williams

13. Andrew Horrell

14. Tim Nanai-Williams

15. Robbie Robinson

16. Hika Elliot

17. Ben Afeaki

18. Michael Fitzgerald

19. Sam Cane

20. Brendon Leonard

21. Jackson Willison

22. Lelia Masaga


1. Tendai Mtawarira

2. Bismarck du Plessis

3. Jannie du Plessis

4. Willem Alberts

5. Anton Bresler

6. Keegan Daniel ( C )

7. Marcell Coetzee

8. Ryan Kankowski

9. Charl McLeod

10. Frederic Michalak

11. Lwazi Mvovo

12. Paul Jordaan

13. JP Pietersen

14. Louis Ludik

15. Patrick Lambie

16. Craig Burden

17. Wiehahn Herbst

18. Steven Sykes

19. Jacques Botes

20. Jean Deysel

21. Meyer Bosman

22. Riaan Viljoen

Tonight is the Final for the 2012 Super 15. The Sharks are the most successful team to have never won the Super 15 title, and the Chiefs are aiming ot make it second time lucky, having appeared in the 2009 final

1:00 Game begins with a lot of high kicks from both teams within the first minute and the Sharks turn it over at 1:20 minutes for a knock on. Chiefs Scrum. Kerr-Barlow takes the pass and passes it out wel. Nanai-Williams makes an excellent run but Sharks knock it out. Chiefs lineout.

3:00 Chiefs turn the ball over, due to early tackle, but regain possession soon after.

4:00 Chiefs lose their own lineout and are on hight defence 5 meters out from the Sharks tryline.

5:00 Chiefs offside, Sharks Penalty.

6:00 Frederic Michalak scores. Chiefs restart play

7:00 Aaron Cruden kicks the ball long, and turns the ball ocer to the Sharks.

9:00 Sharks win their own lineout, but lose the ball to knock on.

10:00 A shitload more kicking around (which is really boring).

11:00 Lineout not straight to the Chiefs.

13:00 Ball retrieved by Chiefs from the ruck

14:00 Big, Strong run from Taumololo, but knocked on by Lwazi Mvovo, Chiefs scrum.

15:00 Kerr-Barlow retrives ball form scrum. Sharks recieve the adcantage

16:00 Sharks scrum, they win it and they make a good kick.

18:00 Sonny Bill Williams make big run, and passes it off to Robbie Robinson. Bit more passing around, which results in Tim Nanai-Williams getting over the line. Chiefs up 5-3

20:00 Conversion to Aaron Cruden. Chiefs up 7-3

22:00 Sharks start to crumble due to the wet conditions, dropping th wet ball

23:00 Tim Nanai-Williams almost gets his second try of the evening, but it gets knocked out. Sharks give away penalty.

24:00 Aaron Cruden nails his penalty. Chiefs up 10-3. Sharks restart play

25:00 Paul Jordaan makes big run, but couldn’t make it all the way due to lack of support. Chiefs regain possession and kick it into touch. Black Keys’ Lonely Boy playing during break in play.

27:00 Robbie Robinson makes a great kick ot clear the ball, and makes it into touch.

28:00 Sharks Lineout. Nothing much to say about this

30:00 Chiefs give away penalty for Obstruction.

32:00 Sharks reverse the penalty, and the Chiefs are awarded a penalty shot at goal.

33:00 Aaron Cruden nails the shot at goal. Chiefs 13 Sharks 3

35:00 Sharks successfully get their own lineout. Very successful with their lineouts tonight

36:00 Tawera Kerr-Barlow makes excellent run but Chiefs get the penalty for interferrence in the ruck.

37:00 Aaron Cruden attempts the Penalty goal. Strikes it poorly and didn’t have enough gas on it. Chiefs 13 Sharks 3

39:00 Chiefs feed the scrum after Sharks knock on the ball during a lineout in their own 22

40:00 Robbie Robinson is pulled into touch after breaking the line, giving the Chiefs the half time lead 13-3


40:00 Aaron Cruden gets the second half underway with an excellent kick

41:00 Sonny Bill Williams loses the ball foward after the Chiefs work their way into the Sharks 22. Sharks feed the scrum.

43:00 Tim Nanai-Williams gets over the line but Steve Walsh rules the ball was knocked on before he goes over the line. Sharks feed a 5m defensive scrum.

44:00 Craig Clark charges down a Frederic Michalak attempt to clear the ball

45:00 Kane Thompson finds a gap after a Chiefs fed scrum and makes it across the line. Chiefs 18 Sharks 3

46:00 Aaron Cruden slots the conversion. Chiefs 20 – Sharks 3

49:00 the Sharks edge their way into the Chiefs 22 and go through multiple phases but don’t manage to get over the line before the Chiefs turn the ball over

50:00 Chiefs get penalised and Frederic Michalak lines up the ball to take a shot at goal

51:00 Michalak gets the penalty goal. Chiefs 20 Sharks 6

52:00 Sharks are penalised this time, and Cruden lines up for a shot at goal

53:00 Cruden drifts the goal wide. Chiefs 20 Sharks 6

57:00 Chiefs put the Sharks under a lot of pressure in their territory. Chiefs feed a 22m scrum after Paul Jordaan loses the ball forward.

60:00 Lelia Masaga gets over for a Chiefs try. Chiefs 25 Sharks 6

61:00 Aaron Cruden gets a successful conversion. Chiefs 27 Sharks 6

63:00 Steve Walsh penalises Sonny Bill Williams for a shoulder charge. Patrick Lambie kicks for the corner.

66:00 Chiefs penalised in own territory. Sharks have a quick take.

67:00 Chiefs lose the ball in their own half and the Sharks feed a defensive scrum

69:00 the Sharks are penalised for offside and Cruden kicks for the corner.

71:00 Aaron Cruden is awarded a shot at goal after the Sharks are penalised for putting their greedy mits in the ruck.

72:00 Aaron Cruden makes good on his oppotunity to add to the Chiefs scoreline. Chiefs 30 Sharks 6

73:00 Liam Messam makes a very strong attempt at the line, but Asaeli Tikoirotuma has him all wrapped up. Sharks turn the ball over and clear it away.

76:00 Sonny Bill charges towards the line and makes it over. Chiefs 35 Sharks 6

78:00 Aaron Cruden attempts the goal, and makes good. Chiefs 37 Sharks 6.

80:00 The full time hooter goes and the Sharks lose the ball forward. End of game. Chiefs are crowned 2012 Super XV champions.

Chiefs  Tries – T. Nanai-Williams, K. Thompson, L. Masaga, SB. Williams

Pen – A. Cruden 3

Con – A. Cruden 4

Drop –

Cards –

Sharks Tries –

Pen – F. Michalak 2

Con –

Drop –

Cards –

Match Officials

Referee: Steve Walsh

Assistant Ref 1:Craig Joubert

Assistant Ref 2:Keith Brown

TMO : Garratt Williamson


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: