Going Out on a Limb


Last week, I decided that it was time to expand my social circle and get out to meet some new people, so I joined the Central North Island Young Nationals. For anyone who doesn’t know, Young Nationals is the youth section of the National party. This is well and truly going out on a limb for me, as five years ago I would never have thought of joining a political organization. Even six months ago I would never have thought of joining a political organization, but I think it’s time that I get out and meet some new people. Who knows, I might even be able to meet some pretty cool people :).

Enough about me, if you’re wondering what Young Nationals is all about, then this part of my blog post is for you. The National Party has always had a youth section since its inception in 1936 but wasn’t named ‘Young Nationals’ until 1969. Young Nats celebrated 75 years in New Zealand in 2009 and counts some of the most well known politicians in New Zealand as former members, including the Rt Hon. Dr Lockwood Smith (current Speaker of the House), Dr Bill English (current Deputy Prime Minister), Rt Hon Robert Muldoon (Former Prime Minister) and Rt Hon Winston Peters (current leader of NZ First and Former Deputy Prime Minister).

Maybe I can even be the next big thing in politics 😛

For more information, visit the Young Nationals website at www.youngnats.org.nz 🙂

4 thoughts on “Going Out on a Limb

    • I think it’s promising though how many of the politicians in parliment today were members of the youth section of their respective parties. There are a lot of things that I would like to say and I think that here is the best place to voice my ideas.

Leave a Reply

