Bullying


We’ve all heard of bullying in schools. It seems to have been around forever an all eternity, but we don’t seem to be any closer to fixing the problem. Because it’s exactly that. A problem, and a very big one at that.

Surely we’ve all experienced some sort of bullying at some point in time, whether it be a nasty comment that someone has said, or physical violence of some sort. While it’s not as bad for some people as it is for others, we all know that it doesn’t feel good when other people make us feel better. But when the boot is on the other foot and a person is being bullied on a regular basis (like me), it is the most awful experience in the world. There are honestly no words to express how it feels to be bullied.

I experienced bullying on an almost daily basis during my primary school and early secondary school years (up to the age of about 15 or 16). Purely because I had to wear glasses. The worst thing was, bullying wasn’t happening to anyone else in my class. I was the single target for my bullies and I was singled out almost every day because I of something that I couldn’t do anything about. I know that children don’t automatically understand that it’s not nice to make fun of people for things outside of their control, but as parents, we owe it to ourselves to explain to our kids why it’s not good to do it. Purely because I know what it’s like to be on the receiving end of that sort of treatment. I couldn’t do anything about my eyesight. I didn’t ask to have poor eyesight and believe me, if there was something that I could do about my eyesight, then believe me I would do it without a second though. Since I can’t, it’s something that I’ve just had to learn to live with.

Bullying is a really tough thing to live with, and I completely understand why some young people choose to end their lives because of bullying. The pain just gets too much because not only have you been reduced to so little by these pitiful excuses for human beings, but it just feels like the only way to out the situation.

I’ve found a really good blog about bullying, mainly from the point of view from the bullied, what it’s like for them and the implications the bullying has had on their lives. Please check it out at Bullying Stories (bullyinglte.wordpress.com).

5 thoughts on “Bullying

  1. Thanks for the kind words, Morgan. I appreciate you mentioning my blog. It will take a village to deal with the issue of bullying and if we all work together, we can make a difference.

    • You’re welcome mate. Bullying is a terrible thing and no one truly understand what it’s like to be bullied unless it’s a place you have been to before.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

